GMT

GMT
GMT
GF05
Platinum
Black dial

The acronym ‘GMT’, or Greenwich Mean Time, the benchmark meridian time, refers in watchmaking terminology to a (dual or) second time zone indicator. Driven by a spirit of research, Robert Greubel and Stephen Forsey have gone well beyond this conventional time zone display using a window or a hand, by incorporating into their timepiece a terrestrial globe completing each anti-clockwise rotation in 24h - the same direction in which our planet spins.

Naturally, and in this too we can recognize the "Greubel Forsey signature", the utmost care is taken with the decoration of the components, down to the smallest details. The hand finishes take in the entire range of traditional techniques, from frosting to hand-bevelling, as well as the subtleties of hand-polishing, lapping, and straight graining with flat black polished finishes. The domed crystal, the case-back and lateral window are made from sapphire crystal. The hand- stitched black alligator strap has a platinum folding clasp. A magnificent demonstration of expertise harnessed for the pursuit of fine craftsmanship.

The GMT calibre is powered by two barrels providing a 72-h power reserve with a frequency of 21,600 vibrations/hour. The calibre comprises 443 components. It features a 24-second tourbillon with 25° inclination, comprising 87 components for a total weight of 0.36 g.

Besides its chronometric properties and reliability, this regulator system was adopted for its small size, which meant that a calibre diameter of 36.40 mm (16 ½ lines) could be kept. This makes for a new medium-sized case, 43.5 mm wide with a total height of 16.14 mm.

Made from 950 platinum, it has a slightly lighter hue than the previous white gold version.

you may also like

GMT

GMT
GMT
Platine

Allusion au « Greenwich Mean Time », l’heure du méridien de référence, l’acronyme GMT désigne, dans le vocabulaire horloger, l’indication d’un second fuseau horaire. Animés d’un esprit de recherche, Robert Greubel et Stephen Forsey ont largement outrepassé l’affichage conventionnel d’un fuseau dans un guichet ou à l’aide d’une aiguille, en incluant à leur Garde-temps un globe terrestre effectuant une rotation complète en 24h, dans le sens contraire des aiguilles de la montre, c’est-à-dire celui qu’emprunte notre planète.

Naturellement, et on reconnaît là aussi la « signature Greubel Forsey », un soin tout particulier est apporté à la décoration des composants jusque dans leurs moindres détails. Les finitions à la main déclinent toute la palette des techniques traditionnelles, du grenage à l’anglage, en passant par les nuances du polissage, du rodage, des traits tirés au poli bloqué noir. Le verre bombé, le fond et la fenêtre latérale sont en saphir. Le bracelet alligator noir cousu main avec boucle déployante en platine. C’est là une belle démonstration de savoir-faire mis au service de la bienfacture. 

Le calibre GMT est alimenté par deux barillets fournissant une autonomie de 72h fréquencée à 21.600 alternances/heure. Le calibre comporte 443 composants. Il est doté d’un échappement tourbillon 24 secondes incliné à 25°, constitué de 87 composants pesant au total 0,36 gr.

Outre ses propriétés chronométriques et sa fiabilité, ce bloc d’échappement a été retenu pour ses dimensions réduites, ce qui permet de conserver un calibre d’un diamètre de 36.40mm (16 ½ lignes). Cela autorise un nouveau boîtier aux dimensions moyennes, 43,5mm de large pour une hauteur totale de 16,14mm. Constitué de platine 950 inaltérable, il présente une teinte légèrement plus claire que la précédente version en or blanc.

vous aimerez aussi